Acting Up

23 Jun

Here it is.  My first blog.  My first post.

I’m Joanna.  My whole life I have loved language and writing.  I’ve been the keeper of many a diary, a scribbler of rants, the tears behind dramatic teenage poetry, a doodler of word art, the author of too many check lists, a scribe of prayers and wishes, and a woman who feels better when she can sit down and rationally write out the chaos in her brain.

It’s about time I started a blog.

So, why “The Art of Acting Up” you ask? (If you didn’t ask, just pretend. Okay?)

Part one: Well, I’m an actress and I… act.

Part two: Up.  The next level, a period of good fortune, doing something boldly, toward the sky or higher.  Sounds exciting, right?  At least, I think so.

Acting Up has come to mean three significant things to me, and that’s what this blog is all about.

  • Up for the Big Guy Upstairs.  I want God to be glorified in all that I do.  I am pursuing the passions He has given me.   I want to show His love to all the people I can. 
  • I want to create significant and meaningful art.  I want to tell stories that need to be heard.  I want to take my abilities to the next level, and pursue an extraordinary career.
  • When something is “acting up” it can mean it is not normal, it is being active, it is being childish, it is being unruly.  These are all things that can describe me at some time or another.  I desire a life full of adventure and fun, and I am determined to have it.
So, there it is.  Acting Up.  There certainly is an art to it, and I am working on it every day.
Toward the sky or higher!
2 Responses to “Acting Up”

  1. Elise June 23, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    I love this so much. You’re going to be a rockstar blogger.

  2. Jan Rolan June 24, 2012 at 6:25 am #

    It is so exciting to watch your extraordinary life unfold!

Leave a Reply

