California Girl

24 Jun

From the time I was very little, I had an obsession with California.  I was born into a family of Californians, but I had the “misfortune” to be born in Utah.  It was unfair.  The Golden State was home to beaches, Disneyland, Hollywood,  and a large portion of my family. California was the dream, but I lived in Utah.  So, I had to settle for family vacations to SoCal and listening to the Beach Boys on a regular basis.

Image

This photo is of an eighth grade assignment


Many of my dreams changed, but some of them have stayed close to my heart.  California is one such dream, and two weeks ago it became a reality.  My husband and I just moved to Los Angeles, and I am FINALLY a California Girl.

The past couple weeks have been incredibly surreal and ridiculously exciting.  It was of utmost importance to do many touristy things as soon as possible.  Here is a look at our first California adventures:

We explored the Santa Monica Pier, shopped, and went to the beach.

Heather and Jo do Santa Monica

Image

Santa Monica Pier

Daniel and I celebrated our second anniversary with season passes to Universal Studios!

Two Wonderful Years

Universal!

We went to downtown Hollywood and explored the Walk of Fame.

Welcome to Hollywood!

The Disney Soda Fountain

A favorite star, Carol Burnett

Meryl Streep is one of my inspirations

Of course, The Beach Boys

Exploring California has been a wonderful adventure so far.  Every day I learn something new.  Every day I become a little more brave.  I am so thankful for the opportunity to begin living this dream.  I am ready to see what the world has in store for this California Girl.

One Response to “California Girl”

  1. Grandma July 30, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    Even in Utah you were always a California girl!

Leave a Reply

