My Best Friend, Emma Stone

9 Jul

The only thing I have ever wanted to do is perform.  That dream has taken many different shapes throughout my life, like: a Broadway diva, a pop icon recording artist, a fabulous movie star, and even a trainer/performer at Sea World.  I wanted to do it all.  Really, I still want to do it all.  What it comes down to is the desire to make art.  And not just art, but good art.  I want to tell stories that need to be told, make people think, tap into an audience’s emotions, or even just give them a break from every day life through a good laugh or two.  This is what I want to do with my life.

As an actor, there are a lot of amazing people who influence and inspire me.  People who have careers that I admire and aspire to.  One of my favorites is my best friend, Emma Stone.

Okay, okay.  So, Emma Stone is not actually my best friend, but I really wish she was!  Emma is someone I admire as an actor, role model, and person.  Here are the reasons why I love her, and why I think we would have a beautiful friendship:

  • We were born 11 days apart.  Seriously, that close in age.  I respect the work she has done, and even more so knowing just how young she is.
  • When she was 15, she made a powerpoint presentation to convince her parents to let her move to L.A. to pursue an acting career.  Gutsy and spunky.  The powerpoint is totally something I would have done.  Man, why didn’t I think of that?!
  • She got her start in musical theatre – just like me!
  • We are both self admitted criers.
  • “It’s a scary thing for a woman to put yourself out there and look like an idiot. Look at Lucille Ball. She said, ‘I’m not funny. What I am is brave’. The comediennes I admire are the bravest people who aren’t afraid to look ridiculous. Maybe that’s a harder notion for women – the fear of not looking their best.”  — I want to be brave like this. My whole life I have feared looking ridiculous and failing. This is something I want to work towards.
  • I truly admire her sense of humor and the way she laughs at herself.
  • “Confidence is the only key. I know a lot of people who aren’t traditionally ‘beautiful’ – not symmetrical or perfect-bodied or perfect-skinned. But none of that matters because all that shines through is their confidence, humor and comfort with themselves. I can’t think of any better representation of beauty than someone who is unafraid to be herself.” — What a woman!!!
  • I remember very distinctly the moment I truly decided I wanted to pursue film over theatre.  I was sitting in the movie theatre watching The Help, and Emma Stone came on screen.  She was just driving a convertible… that’s all.  Nothing had really happened yet (I had read the book previously), but I just started crying.  I was completely overwhelmed with the feeling of that is what I want to do. I want to make movies.
  • Her resume is awesome.  I would seriously do pretty much everything she has done.  I enjoy her in all of her movies, and I think she has made very wise career decisions.
  • MTV created a new award to give to her at their movie awards.  They named her a trailblazer.  He whole speech was awesome, but this is my favorite part: “Those people are my creative trailblazers, but I’m not following any of their paths, and what’s incredible about them is they help make me want to be more myself because they’re all originals. And I hope that you’ll find your trailblazers. And, trust me, I do not need to be one of them. I probably shouldn’t be one of them, but that you’ll continue to harness your own originality and what makes you unique ’cause I know that when you’re a teenager — sometimes when you’re an adult — what sets you apart can sometimes feel like a burden and it’s not. And a lot of the time, it’s what makes you great.”  

Image

Emma Stone is definitely one of my trailblazers, and maybe one day she’ll be my best friend, too.

Leave a Reply

