Favorite Five Friday (2nd Edition)

3 Aug

 

It’s that time again!!

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

1.  Best friends are the best. Even when they live far away. This week I got to have phone time twice with one of my very best friends, Christy. Moving to a new place is hard, and it’s not always easy to make new friends. I am so thankful for the strong, lasting friendships I do have. It doesn’t matter that we are not in the same place when we can still talk, support each other, and share our lives.

Image

Chi Chi

2.  The Chick-Fil-A debate is not one of my favorite things, but I think being challenged is a good thing.  This challenge is on my list. I will not pretend to know all the details or have a perfect understanding of the entire situation. What I do know is that it has caused me to stop. To think. To challenge myself. To challenge my beliefs. I used to think that I had all the right answers, but I was only regurgitating the things I had heard with no life experience to back it up.  Now, things are different. So, what do I believe and what do I want to take a stand for?  This is one of those situations where nothing is just black or white.  There’s a gray area here because this isn’t statistics and facts.  It’s real people with real feelings, beliefs, and hearts.  My own heart is hurting and confused about this situation.  I don’t have all the right answers, and that makes me panic.  So, I sat down and thought about what I do know and what I do believe. This is what I came up with:  I believe that God is love. That God loves every single one of us, and that He calls us to love one another. I know that we don’t always show God’s love because we are imperfect.  I believe we should treat all other human beings with kindness and respect. Even those with different opinions than our own. I believe everyone has a right to stand up for what they believe in.  I believe in the freedom of speech. I know that sometimes we take this too far, and instead of joining others to our cause, our free speech creates more fear and hate.  I know that not everyone believes in my God. I believe we should show them God’s love anyway. I believe that we cannot impose our Christian morals on those who do not believe as we do, and then condemn them for failing to live up to them. I believe we should be more concerned about the well-being and care of our own relationships than the relationships of those we don’t even know.  I believe that people are ultimately more important than the issues. I believe God would want us to take the time to get to know people who are different from us rather than passing our prideful judgments on them from afar. I know that some of my gay friends are the most loving, caring, and kind people I’ve ever met. I believe God calls us to support one another and share our hardships and struggles. Most of all, I know that I don’t have all the answers. I believe that I am just another imperfect person trying to show God’s love to all people.   Here are two blogs on the subject that really helped me work my way through my thoughts and the different perspectives:

http://oddmanout.net/post/28484026012/chick-fil-activism

http://matthewpaulturner.net/f1/5-reasons-why-the-church-failed-yesterday/

3.  GoGo SqueeZ Apple Sauce.  Seriously. Best snack to have at work when there’s no time to take a break. Easy, quick, and delicious!

Image

On the go!

4.  This is a little embarrassing, but I am going to share. This week I spent a lot of time by myself, curled up reading. That’s normal for me. What’s not that normal was this week’s reading selection. (Quick, like a band-aid) The Twilight Saga. There. I said it. (Laugh, groan, vomit, and sigh as you will). Of course, I had read all of Stephenie Meyer’s Vampire novels in the not so distant past. I became a fan of the series prior to its pop culture explosion. I have always loved young adult novels, fantasy, and vampires. Post Twi-hard phenomenon it was hard to look at the series the same way.  The saga was being analyzed, criticized, and super sized. Concerned adults decided Bella was a terrible role model and Edward was abusive. Teens and tweens decided to start biting each other because it was, like, the thing to do. Fantasy fans decided Steph Meyer bastardized vampire-lore. Hollywood decided to create a horrific movie franchise.  I decided I should probably question the sanity of my feel-good feelings about the books. So, they’ve been sitting on my shelf for a few years now, prettily staring me in the face. I thought about getting rid of them, but I needed to reread them to make sure I truly no longer want them. Well… ugh… I have to admit, I still kind of want to keep them around. (I know! I know!). I understand that they are not incredibly well written books. I know the Twilight vamps are completely outside the normal vampire canon. I see now that Bella really is kind of a sorry excuse for a heroine. (I might have to write a whole separate post about that one). I realize why there is so much mockery surrounding the series.  BUT I also get why millions of teenage girls are crazy for it. Maybe that’s why I have a certain affinity for the books… once upon a time, I was a teenage girl. The series is about something other worldly happening to an ordinary girl. It’s magical, daring, beautiful, and fun. She’s swept off her feet and loved fiercely. She gets everything she wants and everything she didn’t even know she wanted. In the end, she becomes the one who was needed.  She is enough and she is the hero. It’s the extraordinary life that we teenage girls (past, present, and future) dream of.  The Twilight Saga is certainly not the epitome of literature, fantasy, romance, or even young adult novels… But I will always have a little bit of a soft spot for those sparkly vampires and the human girl who finally realizes she isn’t ordinary at all.

5.  Earlier this week we got to visit with some friends we hadn’t seen in several years!  We had a good time hanging out and taking pictures with Kelly, who is a fabulous photographer!

Check out her page:(https://www.facebook.com/PhotographyByKelly?ref=ts)

and some of our fun shots:

Image

Silliness

Image

Street Fair

Image

Photo shoot!

Image

Happy

 

There you have it, my week in a nutshell!  Happy Friday!

 

 

One Response to “Favorite Five Friday (2nd Edition)”

  1. Grandma August 4, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    fantastics photos!!!

Leave a Reply

