The Queen of Hurry Up

12 Sep

These are some things I know about myself…

  • I am a perfectionist
  • I am a planner
  • I am detail-oriented
  • I want to do everything at once
  • I like to make goals
  • I like to be in the know
  • I like to start and finish tasks quickly
  • I like to cross things off my to do list
  • I am not always good at prioritizing
  • I am not always good at making decisions
  • I do not like to be unprepared
  • I do not like to wait

Yesterday was my day off, and I decided I wanted to get some things done.  I ended up back in bed with a headache because I could not focus on just one thing.  There were so many ideas, projects, thoughts, and things running through my mind that couldn’t decided where to start.  My brain was telling my body to do a million (okay, that might be an exaggeration… what can I say?  I am a fan of hyperbole.) different things at once, and I finally just had to stop and sit down for a little while.

How absurd is that?

I get so excited about making plans and new projects, and I love that.  But I am not usually good at focusing in on the baby steps to complete things. Typically, I just try to find the quickest way to get to the end. It seems like I am always in a hurry.  When did I forget to stop and smell the roses? When did taking my time become so difficult to do? When did I lose the ability to focus? Honestly, I think it’s a mix of things.  I really enjoy completing things.  There is a sense of accomplishment that I just live for.  I like to get things done. Maybe I am in a constant race with myself? I also love being in the know.  There are so many things I want to experience… when I read a book or start a new television show, I devour them.  I can hardly stop myself from spending all my time reading or watching because I just have to know what happens. Hurry up and finish!  Hurry up and get to the end!  Hurry up and go!  These things don’t always bother me, but after yesterday, I think I need to slow down.

Here is a brief look at some of my headache inducing project ideas from yesterday.

  • I am working on all things food.  New recipes, new foods, new ideas about clean eating, new recipe system, new meal plans, etc.
  • I am working on all things finance. New budget, new saving methods, new spending methods, new reading material, etc.
  • I am working on some DIY. New sewing projects, new crafts, new clothing ideas, new decorating ideas, etc.

These are all things I still want to work on, but I came to the realization that I can’t do them all in one day. Or probably one month.  Maybe even one year.  I love to make lists, but I think I am expecting too much of myself when I am too general.  I can’t just make a list that says things like: “clean, organize, budget, sew, recipes” and think I am going to do everything I am implying on that list in one day.  I need to prioritize, break it down into baby steps, be more specific, create reachable goals, and focus on ONE THING at a time.

My mom manages her time better than pretty much anyone I know.  She once gave me the idea of “6 Things.”  You make a realistic list of six things you are going to complete before the day is over.  This sounds like the perfect idea to get started on my new “What’s the rush?” plan. (That’s the official name. I just decided.) I can prioritize, manage my time, plan the steps, focus, and, most importantly, take my time.

I am also going to start working on my 101 in 1001 so I can make a great, long list of specific goals. I have so many things that I want to do, but I want to enjoy myself while I do them.  No more hurry up.

There is absolutely no reason why I need to rush through every minute of my life.  I need to stop and look around.  Be a part of what is happening. I am thrilled to be here so I think I better start acting like it. 🙂  Enjoy each moment… this is the time I have been given, and I am gonna take it! (Slowly of course) 😉

 

2 Responses to “The Queen of Hurry Up”

  1. Grandma September 18, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    Sorry, its in the genes. I like your ideas to manage it.

Leave a Reply

