Favorite Five Friday (11th Edition)

12 Oct

Hello Friends!  So, last week I had to put off FFF because my husband and I took a trip to Nashville, TN.  We only left there four months ago, but we miss our friends quite a bit!  It was a wonderful time to catch up, catch our breath, and catch some gorgeous Fall weather. So, now it’s time to rewind for…

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

1.  I couldn’t post about our trip until we got there because it was a surprise for my best friend, Christy.  Everyone else we know in Nashville knew we were coming, but somehow we all managed to keep the secret.  If you know me… you probably know that I’m not very good at surprises. I enjoy it when people surprise me, but if I can tell there is something going on I immediately get freaked out and start prying. Not fun for anyone. I also have a hard time keeping a surprise secret for someone else for an extended period of time. I haven’t ever spoiled a surprise, but it’s hard for me not to share something so fun! So, I kept the secret and the surprise was a success!  Christy’s husband, Steven, was in on the surprise from the beginning and he helped us coordinate everything. To set the scene, Steven asked Christy to meet him at the theatre where he was working. Dan and I hid behind bushes and a truck to wait for her arrival.  Once she pulled up, Steven got her out of the car and told her to cover her eyes because he had a surprise for her.  Then we came out of hiding and sneaked up on her! I gave her a great big hug while her eyes were closed, and when she opened them she could not have been more surprised!  It was a perfect reunion. 🙂

Our Countdown

Chi Chi and Jo

 

2.  Like I said, we met up at the theatre where Steven was working.  He just finished a run of Sherlock Holmes: The Final Adventure at the Nashville Children’s Theatre. We were so thrilled when we found out that Steven got cast that we started setting plans in motion to come see him.  We had a great time seeing this awesome production.  There is something so magical about seeing theatre with children.  I love their honest, uninhibited reactions to what they’re seeing.  My favorite moments were when a train sound effect rang throughout the room and the kids looked for the train in the direction of the sound. Then, there was the epic kiss between Sherlock and Irene Adler… the little boy in front of us said, “No… Don’t… Kiss…!” It was more dramatic than the scene on stage!  It was such a fantastic show, and I’m so glad we had the opportunity to see it!

3.  When we lived in Nashville, I had the pleasure of caring for two amazing kids.  I grew very close to the family, and leaving them was one of the hardest parts about moving.  We got to go spend a couple of hours visiting with them, and, let me tell you, those kids still have me wrapped around their fingers! It’s amazing to see how much they’ve grown in four short months. I was thrilled and relieved that they hadn’t forgotten me.  They will always hold a special place in my heart, and I can’t wait to continue watching them grow.

4.  Dan and I both worked as actors in Nashville, and made lots of friends in the theatre community. Two of our favorite Nashvillians threw us party one of the nights we were in town to give us the opportunity to see all those friends.  We had a blast hanging out and catching up!  There is never a dull moment when these people get together.

5.  Honestly, there are so many fabulous moments I could share.  Really, the best part of our trip was just seeing our incredible friends.  Coffee dates, breakfast meetings, late night talks, dinner outings, silly antics, lunch get together’s, a trip to the zoo, and all kinds of life sharing.  I miss all of these wonderful people so much, and I am thankful that they are still a part of my life even though they are far away.

Christy, Kyla, and me at the Zoo

Dano, me, and Will

Fellas playing the Walking Dead board game

Kels, me, and Cam

 

All in all, it was an AMAZING trip. I miss Nashville already.  Love you all!

Happy Friday, Y’ALL!

Leave a Reply

