Acclimation

4 Nov

With every change there comes a certain period of acclimation.  We need time to adapt and get used to new things.  I’ve heard that moving to a new place is one of the hardest things that people ever do. I’ve heard that it can cause depression. I’ve heard that it can take three years to feel like you are at home.

I’m over it.

Okay, so I wish it were that easy.  Yes, things are hard sometimes… but I am ready to make my life here.  People told me not to rush things once we got out to L.A…. take your time, get used to your surroundings, get comfortable, ease into it.  Well, while I do think that is sound advice, I have not chosen an easy or comfortable path.  That is just something that I have had to accept (even though it’s hard for me because I thrive off of routine).  See, the problem with taking too much time to acclimate in L.A. or in The Industry is that you will get comfortable.  You will get stuck. It is so simple to sink into a pattern. Especially for someone like me who doesn’t always do well with change. It is easy and comfortable to find a routine in a job that you are doing to make money. This cushy, comfy place can distract you from the things you really want.  You can get lazy and spend your time procrastinating. It can make your dreams seem less important or less attainable.

That is not going to happen.

I don’t ever want to look back on my life and wish I had lived someone else’s. I don’t want it to be said of me that I could have tried harder, worked harder, and done more. I want to exhaust every single option. I want to live a life I am proud to call mine.

So, while it may still take time to get used to my new living situation. Wait… let me rephrase that, while is most definitely going to take time to get used to my new living situation, I am stubbornly refusing to get too comfortable.  (And believe me, I am stubborn).  I have work to do and a life that I want to live on my terms!

My goals/plans at this point:

  • Sign up for L.A. Casting.
  • Take advantage of all the free classes, workshops, interviews, etc. I can find.
  • Study up on directors, writers, and actors I admire.
  • Find an acting class/scene study to be a part of as soon as possible.
  • Research joining SAG. Start saving up!
  • READ! Anything and everything to gain more knowledge.
  • WATCH! Anything and everything to gain more knowledge.
  • Submit to agencies that fit for me.
  • Get involved with other people in the industry – network!
  • Ask for help.  It never hurts.  (So, anyone out there in the blog0sphere know anyone that can help me find my way? 😉  But really… if you know someone I should know… let me know!)

There is no one way to make it in this business, but I want to be prepared to do my best in every situation that comes my way.  I can’t be sure of what my career or life will look like, but I am committing myself to working hard, taking risks, and finding success.

“Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it.” — Maya Angelou

One Response to “Acclimation”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Favorite Five Friday (13th Edition) « The Art Of Acting Up - November 23, 2012

    […] in Los Angeles.  It’s complicated and tough and maddening!  I posted recently about goals (Acclimation).  That has been a great jumping off point. I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately, and I […]

Leave a Reply

