Back in the Game

14 Nov

Planning out and sharing goals has got me thinking… I need more goals in other areas of my life. One in particular keeps coming to mind right now…

Prior to coming to L.A. I got really serious about getting healthy.  I researched, read, and applied things I learned to my lifestyle.  I discovered my athletic side by working out consistently and losing quite a few pounds.  I counted my calories and found new, better foods to put in my body. I had success.  I arrived in Los Angeles feeling great and in the best shape of my life.

Well, a lot has changed since then.  New place, new job, new life… yada, yada, yada.  Right?  At first I stuck with it.  It was easy. It was routine. I had been doing it for more than a year.  Gradually it all faded away… first, it was deciding counting calories was inconvenient and unnecessary. I could do it by myself… even with all the new and yummy food. Then, it was using excuses like, “I have such an active job, I don’t need to work out.” and “I am too exhausted to work out after work!” to get out of my work out routine.  Now, I have successfully back pedaled. UGH! I really thought I would never fall off the wagon like this, but I guess it just goes to show… this lifestyle change is a journey and not a destination.

I am ready to get back on track.

Assessing the damage? I haven’t put any weight back on. (Yay!) But I have lost a lot of muscle, flexibility, and endurance I built up.  I am back at self-control square one when it comes to terrible and oh-so-good foods I love to eat.  (No, I do not believe in depriving myself of something awfully delicious now and then, but I have a tendency to over indulge.  Oh, the donuts!)

I know it is okay to make mistakes, but it’s hard to look back at where I came from and have to pick myself back up.  It hurts to remember what I used to feel like before I made the positive changes, and realize I put myself on a path that was headed straight back there.  It’s tough to get back into my routine when I remember just how painful and hard it was the first time.  However, it is simple when I remember how good I felt and how much I want this.  I want to feel healthy, look my best, be strong, and have control of my body.

I am sharing this here because someone once told me a surefire way to accomplish your goals is to say them out loud and share them with others. So, you can hold me accountable, y’all!

I have put together a two-week “detox” to get me back in the game.  I’ve got my work outs planned and I am prepared to test my donut-loving will power.

My goals: Stick to it! Follow my work out plan and sweat it out. Eat well and get back to counting calories. Make progress and report back… Then, keep going!

There you have it.  I am back in the game and I am playing to win!

2 Responses to “Back in the Game”

  1. andyjillvyacht November 15, 2012 at 5:06 am #

    oh girl….i am SO there! it is so frustrating isn’t it!? 😦 do share your two week detox and maybe we can re-motivated together!! good luck!!

    • Joanna Hackman November 19, 2012 at 8:02 am #

      Jill! Thanks for commenting! 🙂 My workout plan has just been a mix of things! Getting in some yoga, cardio, and weight training. I’m using some P90X, Jillian Michaels, and some work outs from Fitness magazine! You should look for the P90Xpress work out – I think you can find it on the Fitness website. I like it a lot!

Leave a Reply

