Choose Your Own Adventure

21 Nov

I love adventure.  Being a part of new and exciting experiences. Challenging yourself and taking risks.  Truly and wonderfully living.

I am ridiculously infatuated with the idea of adventure.  I want to live my life adventurously, but sometimes the cautious, routine-loving woman who runs my brain makes me second guess myself.  It is up to my heart to kindly tell her to please keep her fears of failure and losing control to herself.  This is my life, and I am going to choose my own adventure!

I have recently been on multiple adventures with my new friend, Leah.  We haven’t known each other very long, but I have already learned quite a bit from her. I admire the gutsy way she takes on life… she already wrote a brilliant blog post about what an adventure it was to become friends. (She’s a fantastic writer! Check it out here: Friend Dating).

So, I am not going to get into that particular adventure, but I wanted to share some of the others we’ve had so far!

Trying to figure things out in a giant city can be pretty tricky (especially for the directionally challenged. Ahem…me).  I get scared to go out and do new things because I don’t want to get lost, get in an accident, go to far, do it by myself… the excuses go on and on.  The first thing Leah invited me to do with her was a fitness class. In a place I wasn’t familiar with. On trampolines.  I thought it sounded amazing, but I was a little nervous about it.  So many new things all at once… the uptight lady in my head was frowning in disapproval.  But I had to do it! I wanted to do it! I went for it…And it really was awesome!  New activity and new friend all in one night.

Since then we’ve been on a six-mile hike in Laurel Canyon, had a lunch date in a cute cafe,  and made our way to Griffith Park on a photography expedition.  Hanging out with Leah is always an adventure, and I am loving it.  She’s inspired me to take some new risks and be open to new adventures.  People, this is the kind of friend to have.

I cannot wait til our next adventure!  Until then… “Adventure is out there!”

3 Responses to “Choose Your Own Adventure”

  1. followyourfear November 22, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

    This is good and accurate. I approve.

    I also feel tremendous pressure to come up with something adventurous every time we get together now.

    • Joanna Hackman November 23, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      Haha! I am glad you approve. No need for an exciting adventure all the time! No one needs that kind of pressure. 😉 I just meant you are very creative and you encourage me to do things that are outside my normal box. It’s a good thing. No pressure. Just keep being you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Favorite Five Friday (13th Edition) « The Art Of Acting Up - November 23, 2012

    […] In my most recent post, Choose Your Own Adventure, I wrote about my new friend, Leah.  One of the best parts about this week was a fun photo shoot […]

Leave a Reply

