Favorite Five Friday (13th Edition)

23 Nov

Happy Friday, friends! I hope you all had a fabulous and filling Thanksgiving!  Here we go…

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

1.  So, pretty easy week at work. I had a few days off and it has been great!  However, Saturday was my typical twelve-hour day, and I was struggling.  I had texted Dan to whine about it, and he was very sweet and encouraging.  Then I came home to this:

image

Um, how cute is the man I married?! Seriously. He always knows how to make my day. Well, the next day he was at work all day, and I got a text from him saying he wasn’t feeling well. I took a trip to Target to get out of the house… while I was there I found a great deal on Season 4 of How I Met Your Mother and the kind of Gatorade he likes best.  So, I got to surprise him with some of his favorite things.  What a fun weekend gifting each other.  Marriage is so fun.  🙂

2.  An Education is one of my favorite films. Carey Mulligan is one of my favorite actresses. I have watched it countless times, and I am sure I will watch it many, many more.  This week I have been thinking a lot about acting. My craft, technique, instincts, and passion.  As an actor, it is  interesting to watch the commentaries that most DVDs are released with.  So, I watched the whole film again with the commentary on. I am truly fascinated by the choices made by the director and the actors, the stories that go along with filming, and all the little details one might miss when viewing the movie.  It makes it a completely new experience.  I think this was the first time I have watched a commentary the entire way through, and I don’t know why I haven’t done so sooner.  Going back and watching all my favorite movies with commentary might have to be something I put on my to-do list.

3.  In my most recent post, Choose Your Own Adventure, I wrote about my new friend, Leah.  One of the best parts about this week was a fun photo shoot we did together.  She is a pretty talented photographer, and she had an idea for a fall themed session.  Leah, did some impressive make up and we got to wear cute fall clothes.  We went to Griffith Park and played with the natural lighting and any cool colors we could find.  It was a great time, and we captured some pretty awesome pictures!

You can see a couple more shots on my last post

4.  It’s taken me a couple of months, a lot of procrastination, and some serious conversations with myself to start moving forward.  I have had a hard time figuring out how to begin my career as an actor in Los Angeles.  It’s complicated and tough and maddening!  I posted recently about goals (Acclimation).  That has been a great jumping off point. I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately, and I am starting to formulate a plan.  First things first, I am going to jump back into acting classes.  I need to work and practice to maintain my edge.  It’s been so long at this point that if I got in front of an agent or someone who could offer me a role, I feel like I would fall on my face.  I am going to get back to training my instrument, and I am so excited about it! It feels good to have a plan, and even better to know I am going to be acting again soon.

5. I am not from California, but my family is.  Most of my Dad’s side still lives a couple of hours south of us.  We hadn’t had the chance to see them since we moved (in fact, Dan had never even met them!), but we finally remedied that!  My aunt invited us down for Thanksgiving, and we had a wonderful time!  It was great to catch up with my cousins, play with their adorable children, and introduce my family to my husband.  I am so thankful for the opportunity to spend Thanksgiving with family.  What a grand reunion. 🙂

Another week has come and gone… Can’t wait to see what happens this week! Happy Friday… I am thankful for you!

Leave a Reply

