Gallery

Pinterest Experiments (Round 2)

19 Jun

 

Here we go!  It’s Round 2 of my Pinterest experiments.  (I am attempting a project a week for 3 months as part of my 101 in 1001)  I tried some fun things this month.  Check it out!

1.  DIY book page tutorial.  I saw a cute idea using book pages and mod podge to create things like lamps shades and art to hang on you walls.  I loved the idea and pinned it thinking I would have to try it some time.  Well, the time came!  During our move one of our book shelves broke in half.  The half of it that was still in one piece was still usable as a small shelf, but the top of it wasn’t finished (because you’re not supposed to be able to see the top).  I wanted to be able to keep the shelf and use it so I remembered this idea and decided to make a sort of covering for the shelf.

wpid-2013-06-09-14.45.13.jpg

I used pages from a giant book of plays (Dan and I each had a copy from college) and used my homemade mod podge to paste them onto one of the broken pieces of the shelf.

I used another broken piece to fill in the gap so the new top of the shelf wouldn't bow.

I used another broken piece to fill in the gap so the new top of the shelf wouldn’t bow.

wpid-2013-06-09-20.47.55.jpg

Once it was dry and I had wrapped the new piece the whole way around to give it a finished look, I nailed it to the shelf. (I colored the tops of the nails black to match).

There's the finished look! I'm really pleased with how it turned out.

There’s the finished look! I’m really pleased with how it turned out.

2. DIY Draino.  This is an awesome idea.  Draino is expensive, and I have a lot of hair.  Our sinks were constantly clogging up in our old apartment so when I found this, I had to give it a try.  It really does work!  All you need is vinegar, baking soda, and a pot of boiling water.  Pour the vinegar and baking soda down the drain, let it settle for about 10 minutes, then pour your whole pot of water down the drain.  Easy peasy. (Yeah, you heard me.) 

3.  Ballet Boot Camp: Barre Fitness.  This is my new favorite thing!  In recent months I have been really focused on toning my legs, and so I’ve turned to ballet.  I’ve done a few ballet work outs, but I think this one takes the cake.  I like that my legs are looking good, but the rest of my body is getting toned at the same time.  I’ve noticed my posture improving as well!  I’ve just finished my first week, and I’m looking forward to continuing.

4.  Painted Keys.  This is simple.  Just saw picture about brightening up boring old keys by painting the tops of them.  I had read about using regular paint as well as nail polish.  I picked out my favorite pink nail polish, and decided to give it a shot.

Pretty cute.  We'll see how well it holds up!

Pretty cute. We’ll see how well it holds up!

Those are my projects for the month!  Until next time, check out what I’m Pinning!

XO

5 Responses to “Pinterest Experiments (Round 2)”

  1. Stephanie @ Sandpaper and Glue June 19, 2013 at 6:20 pm #

    Thanks for the link back 🙂

  2. Hayley Rose Maurer June 20, 2013 at 4:56 am #

    The Ballet Boot Camp is killing me! But totally working!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Favorite Five Friday (34th Edition) | The Art Of Acting Up - June 21, 2013

    […]  I posted about my 2nd round of Pinterest Experiments this week.  I’ve had some fun doing these things so go check it […]

Leave a Reply

