Favorite Five Friday (54th Edition)

7 Feb

It’s been a good week, and I am happy to share…

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

1.  You already know I love my job at Universal Studios.  Well, what I don’t love is Off-Peak season at Universal Studios.  There are times of the year that people vacation and travel less… this means fewer visitors for us at the theme park.  As a visitor, Off-Peak is totally when you want to go to a theme park.  As an employee, it’s a bit of a bummer.  So, right now is Off-Peak, and this means I haven’t been spending much time at my beloved job these days.  I miss it!  Well, this weekend I picked up TWO shifts!  That’s like winning the lottery for a Tour Guide! 🙂  I had a lot of fun being back at the park, talking with guests, and hanging out with my co-workers.  I don’t know many people who get as excited as I do when called in for work.  I feel pretty lucky.

2.  Speaking of lucky… my job has some pretty fantastic perks.  One of them is screenings of NBC Universal productions.  The Tour Guides got a very special treat this week.  We were invited to a screening of the first two episodes of Hannibal (weeks before they air on television) by the Executive Producer, Martha De Laurentiis.  (You can follow her on Twitter: @NeoProd –  She is seriously one of the classiest ladies in the business).  Having just binge-watched the whole first season, I was totally stoked.  Ms. De Laurentiis spoke with us about the first season, casting choices, plot twists, and what we can expect from season 2.  After talking with her and watching the first two episodes, I can tell you that season 2 is going to be killer.  (See what I did there?) 😉  Don’t forget to tune in: February 28th on NBC!

han

Thanks for the photo, Mike Sington! 🙂

3.  I had a fantastic call back this week.  I felt great in the room.  I connected with the other actor.  I listened.  I was curious.  I had a lot of fun.  I didn’t get the part.  And that’s okay.  🙂  As a wise friend once told me, there are goals and desires (A goal is something you can work for to achieve.  A desire is something you want, but don’t have any control over).  I can be trained-up, well-prepared, professional, totally present in an audition, but I still may not get the part.  Doing everything within my power to be the best actor I can be and have an audition I feel good about – that is the goal.  Landing the job – just a wonderful desire I don’t have any control over.  Knowing that sure makes the roller coaster ride called being an actor a lot more fun.

4.  Guys, Disneyland, am I right?  We got our annual passes renewed! (Thanks Mom and Dad!!!)  Of course, we had to go see the Mouse for our monthly visit.  We had a blast!

photo (2)

photo (1)

 

One of the best parts of this trip to Disneyland was the food.  Dan and I gave up sweets for January, and we decided to break our fast with the Jazz Kitchen’s fabulous beignets.  After 35 days… it was SO worth the wait.

photo (3)

5.  After seven years, I have decided to take a break from my relationship.  No, I am not talking about with Dan… I mean my relationship with Facebook.  I have been contemplating this decision for quite a while now, and I finally decided to go ahead and do it.  As soon as I made the decision, I deactivated my account almost immediately so I didn’t change my mind.  Facebook is a wonderful tool to keep in touch with loved ones, but I wasn’t joking when I said I had a “relationship” with the social network.  Over the years my use of Facebook has continued to grow.  First, it was just the occasional log in to post something new or see if I had messages from friends.  Then, I got the app on my phone, and I had to post every picture, quote conversations I’d had with friends, and check my notifications multiple times a day.  Finally, I was logged on 100% of the time… posting my special moments practically before they were even over, scrolling through the newsfeed for hours to see if there was anything new I had missed, waiting to see what my friends would say about my latest post, keeping my phone in hand at all times just so I could stay connected.

It kind of makes me sick just thinking about all of that.

So far I have survived more than 24 hours without my lifeline.  Honestly, I haven’t missed it that much.  A couple of times I have pulled out my phone intending to click that little blue button that takes me to the book of faces, but then I remembered it isn’t there anymore.  Then, I put my phone down and I did something else.  And it feels good.

I know some people were disappointed in my decision because Facebook is a great way to keep in touch, but I need to do this for me.  There are still plenty of ways to keep in touch – so, let’s choose to do that.   Will I be back on FB?  Maybe. When I can learn to use it as a tool and not like a relationship substitute. It could be a month, it could be two days, it could be two years.  I don’t have a plan.  I just know that I needed to stop wasting so much time “connecting” online so I can start connecting in real life.

So, there it is, folks!  Thanks for stopping by.  I hope you have had a fantastic FRIDAY!

2 Responses to “Favorite Five Friday (54th Edition)”

  1. Oriia Oxnam February 8, 2014 at 5:02 am #

    The way you love your job is awesome! I hope it stays all around pleasantly unpredictable for you.

    It’s funny that you mention that about Facebook. I’ve been doing the same thing lately and for the last year I have been glued to it. It gotcha worse when brad & I bought iPhones and we were on it 24.7. Breaking away can be be hard- but you’re 100% right- it’s a tool, not a substitute. Curing boredom should be playing board games, having girls nights out, trying new restaurants, creating, finding new things in common with my hubby.

    What I’m trying to say is, thank for sharing! I still love your blog and there’s always a post that catches my eye.

    • Joanna Hackman February 8, 2014 at 8:16 am #

      That’s exactly it, Oriia! 🙂 If you guys come up with any great secrets on moderating FB use, let me know. Haha 😉 Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you guys are doing great! Xo

Leave a Reply

