Gratitude: 100 Posts

10 Apr

This is my 100th post on this blog.

I can’t lie… I am pretty impressed with myself for following through on my commitment to posting.  It hasn’t been easy, and it hasn’t always come out the way I wanted it to.  When I started, I wanted to post more than just a sort of weekly diary entry.  Honestly, there hasn’t always been time (or energy).  Eventually, I want to do more with The Art of Acting Up, but right now I am just pleased to still be here, to still be writing.  This got me to thinking…

Sometimes things don’t turn out the way we plan.  Sometimes that is a good thing.  Life is messy, crazy, and beautiful.  I am learning to embrace that.  There is so much I want to accomplish in my life, but it is essential to love the journey.  I never want to feel like I can’t be happy until I cross items A-Z off of my To-Do List.  That is no way to live!  I want to be happy right now.  A wise friend once told me that the key to being happy is to be grateful.  Stop looking at everything in life as just  another task to check off before you get to where you’re going.  Start seeing it as all the wonderful moments that make up your messy, crazy, beautiful life.  I am working on adopting a real attitude of gratitude.  So, for my 100th post… I want to share 100 things I am grateful for – Big and Small, in no particular order.  This my (messy, crazy, beautiful) life.

  1. I woke up this morning!
  2. My husband was next to me… I kind of love him 😉
  3. My husband
  4. God’s saving grace
  5. A healthy body that can run, jump, and dance
  6. Sunshine
  7. Fresh flowers
  8. Music that makes me feel
  9. Singing at the top of my lungs
  10. Riding in the car with the windows down
  11. Coffee
  12. Devouring a good book
  13. Being able to express myself through words
  14. Knowing that I wanted to be an actor from a very young age
  15. A family who has never stopped supporting and loving me
  16. My Mom is my best friend
  17. Pictures that bring memories flooding back
  18. The ability to communicate with loved ones from long distances
  19. Making up “car dances”
  20. A fridge full of food
  21. Just food… in general
  22. Disneyland (yep, I said it)
  23. Movies that make me think, feel, laugh
  24. I do not have to be afraid
  25. Quality time with quality people
  26. Game night with friends
  27. Having friends that have stuck around for over a decade
  28. Reminiscing about the moments that made us who we are
  29. Making new friends
  30. Encouraging other people
  31. Being encouraged by others
  32. Compliments
  33. Words of affirmation
  34. Universal Studios
  35. Tramily
  36. Having a job that I love
  37. Having a job at all!
  38. Water
  39. Slippers and socks
  40. Earrings
  41. Planners
  42. Freedom to choose
  43. Self-discipline (when I have it)
  44. Pushing my body to get stronger
  45. Seeing God’s work in my life
  46. Taking risks
  47. Having homes in many places
  48. The rush I get from performing in front of people
  49. Trying new things
  50. Laughing until my sides hurt
  51. The beach
  52. Hiking
  53. Seeing amazing views
  54. Inspirational quotes
  55. My ability to memorize
  56. Reading a script that sparks something inside me
  57. Knowing that it’s okay to ask for help
  58. Knowing that it’s okay to ask for what I want
  59. The ability to work hard
  60. Sleeping with lots of pillows
  61. Watching my favorite TV shows with Dan
  62. Having health insurance
  63. Living in such a cool neighborhood
  64. Money to pay rent
  65. Swimming pools
  66. Traveling
  67. Cats… mine in particular
  68. Technology
  69. Going for a walk
  70. Hot showers
  71. My car
  72. Gifts for no reason
  73. Discovering new places
  74. Eyes that can see… even if they need a little extra help
  75. Red sunglasses
  76. A closet full of clothes
  77. Hair that does what I want it to
  78. Playing with kiddos… mostly my niece
  79. Empathy
  80. Having such great family and friends that I miss them so much it hurts
  81. Belief in myself
  82. Others who believe in me
  83. The ability to accomplish my goals
  84. Seeing live theatre
  85. Celebrating the success of others
  86. Good smelling candles
  87. Getting my nails painted
  88. Learning new things
  89. Having my high school diploma and Bachelor’s Degree
  90. Giving back
  91. Making my husband laugh like a little girl
  92. Snuggling up with a blanket
  93. Hugs
  94. The power of prayer
  95. Being an American (even if I wish I had a cooler accent)
  96. Adventures
  97. Being loved well by some amazing people
  98. Loving them back
  99. Writing and being able to share my words
  100. YOU.  I am grateful for you.

What are you grateful for?  Choose gratitude, and happiness will find you.

scan0015

“Tell me, what is it you plan to do 
with your one wild and precious life?”

-Mary Oliver

 

2 Responses to “Gratitude: 100 Posts”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Favorite Five Friday (63rd Edition) | The Art Of Acting Up - April 11, 2014

    […] 3.  Speaking of thankful… I wrote a post earlier this week about gratitude.  It was my 100th Post!  It felt like I needed to write something meaningful.  Lately, I have been feeling overwhelmed with gratitude for all the things in my life – large and seemingly small.  There is so much to be thankful for. Gratitude: 100 Posts […]

  2. Favorite Five Friday (107th Edition)  | The Art Of Acting Up - April 10, 2015

    […] to see old photos and posts pop up every day. Well, this week TimeHop showed me the post I wrote on Gratitude to celebrate 100 posts here on The Art of Acting Up. I’m still so grateful. Thank you for […]

Leave a Reply

