Favorite Five Friday (69th) Edition

6 Jun

Heya!  This week sure flew by…

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

1.  I have reached my one year mark at Universal (I can’t believe it!). This actually happened a couple of weeks ago. I was so busy enjoying my job that I don’t think I even posted about it. Well, it happened. It has been a wonderful year of growing, challenging myself, and building connections and friendships. I now have about seven different jobs that I do, and it is so much fun! I love having the opportunity to mix things up. I worked five days this week, and I did something different every day. It certainly keeps things exciting. My newest position is as a Premiere Producer. Basically, I get to be one of the first people to welcome new hires into the Universal family and guide them through their orientation day. It’s great getting to meet new people, and getting them excited about the awesome opportunity they have just been given.

2.  We finally got to see X-Men: Days of Future Past this week!!! If you had the chance to read my post about The Summer Blockbuster, you know that this was the movie I was most excited to see this summer. I was not disappointed. It was pretty awesome, and I can’t get over how many actors I love were in it. They did a really wonderful job melding the original trilogy into the world of this new one. Go check it out if you haven’t seen it!

3.  Reading is definitely in my top five things to do. I haven’t been doing as much of it lately because A) I am busy and B) It feels like it took me nine years to finish Wuthering Heights. The story was compelling, but Emily Bronte has such an interesting writing style. Obviously, some of that was just the time period it was written in (also, how cool is it that we can read books that are more than a 160 years old?). Part of it was the accents she wrote some of the characters voices in. More than once I found myself reading it out loud so I could hear what it sounded like. Bronte also used a pretty unique framework to tell her story. The main narrator is an outsider who wants to know the family history of his new landlord, and he learns it from the maid. Most of the story is told from the maids perspective to the narrator. (So, I guess she becomes the narrator?!) Intermittently, the narrator interjects or brings the story back to what is currently happening. There is a lot of hopping back and forth between past and present, lots of different perspectives. It’s a little chaotic! It was interesting to read the story of some darker characters until their end. I know lots of people read this back in high school, but I was not one of them. I’m glad I finally got the chance to read it. Complicated story-telling and all.

4. Parks and Recreation is the latest show I’ve been binge-watching. I am a little bit obsessed. Dan was already a fan, but I was never interested. I love Amy Poehler, but the little bits of the show I had seen made me angry. There are so many dumb characters just doing dumb things. Well, I decided to give it ago… And I fell in love with those dumb characters. And now I just want waffles all the time. So, watch this show. And remember, “There is nothing we can’t do if we work hard, never sleep, and shirk all other responsibilities in our lives.” -Leslie Knope (My hero)

5.  Getting packages in the mail is the best! We just got an early anniversary gift from my cute Grandma (she is always so on top of things). Don’t worry, I’m gonna get him to make me some cookies ASAP.

photo (7)

Awe, even our forehead wrinkles match. HA!

 

Happy weekend, one and all!

(BONUS: Did you know that today is National Donut Day?!  So, hurry up! The day isn’t over yet. Go eat a donut. 🙂 I know I did!)

XOXO

Leave a Reply

