Favorite Five Friday (72nd Edition)

27 Jun

Is it just me, or are the weeks getting shorter? I must be getting old. 😉 Oh well, TGIF!

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

 

1.  Jurassic Park… in the park. Watching movies on the big screen is the best. Watching movies on the big screen outside is kind of magical. This is a phenomenon I have only been a part of a few times. Maybe that’s why it seems so magical? The city councilman in my neighborhood decided to set up a movies in the park series for this summer… with a little help from Universal. 🙂 They are screening several Universal films throughout the coming months in the park two blocks from our apartment. They picked Jurassic Park for the first film, and many a tour guide came out to see it under the stars. It was the perfect way to kick off a fun and busy summer!

I make the same face in every photo.

I make the same face in every photo.

photo 2 (4)

Movie Robot. (He didn’t bring me popcorn)

 

Case in point.

Case in point.

2.  I met a really wonderful woman this week who happens to be a casting director. “Casual” conversations with people in the industry are such a complicated thing… it’s like there are all these unwritten rules you should follow. Lucky for me, she was super candid and open. It was refreshing to say the least. I feel like I learned so much about the business and myself as an actor in such a brief period of time. I wish there were more ways to network with such ease. Something to work on, L.A. Or maybe that’s on me. Food for thought. Anyway, I met a CD who now knows who I am, and also happens to be totally cool. It was one of the best parts of my week.

3.  Meal planning is not easy. I have tried it multiple time with not too much success. This week I buckled down and got very specific. Planning with so much detail can be tedious, but I think this is the way I have to do it. At least for now! All that to say, I successfully meal planned this week. We knew what we were going to eat for each meal, and we were prepared. It felt like such a relief to not worry about it. Plus, it made skipping the fast food so much easier. We’ve all been there… You are driving home from work… starving… but you have no clue what you will be able to eat at home. So, you decide just to order Chinese food or stop at The Habit, or Little Caesar’s, or The Habit (again)… I am so over that being my life. I want to save my money and not feel sick to my stomach because all I’ve eaten is pizza and cheeseburgers. (Again, I must be getting old) It felt so good to accomplish this. I am going to keep at it! One week at a time.

4.  Disney, Disney, Disney. We took our June trip this week. Y’all, working in a theme park has ruined us. Having to wait in line or stand in the heat for so long just feels so… unnecessary. Haha. It’s so silly. It was hot and lines were long, but we still had a great time. I must say, having the annual passes is the best because we know that if we don’t get to everything, we will be back soon. It makes the trip so much more relaxed – even when there is chaos all around us. And who am I kidding? I will always brave heat, crowds, and lines to go to Disney. It’s the happiest place on earth. 😀

10300226_10152255747059952_3062026609218704376_n

5. 

10348356_10152248843419952_4925843575559056868_nThis is something that I am working on. I want to share a sincere smile (teeth included) with everyone I see. I’ve noticed when I smile without my teeth it just feels less honest… like I am giving the minimum I can. It doesn’t reach my eyes. In reality, kindness costs me nothing. I can do more. I am choosing not to be afraid or ashamed to make eye contact. Sometimes I feel scared that if I smile, the other person won’t smile back. I feel nervous about drawing the attention to myself. I worry that someone won’t want what I am offering. There have been times that I have smiled at a stranger and immediately averted my eyes because I was too timid to see their reaction. And yet… I can honestly say I have never felt upset or displeased with someone for smiling at me. Who knows how many returned smiles I have missed? I have made a start this week, but I plan to continue. I want to be vulnerable enough to smile at the world with my eyes open. I want to be a source of positivity. Time to be brave.

Okay, love you, bye! Have a great week!

 

 

Leave a Reply

