Favorite Five Friday (78th Edition)

16 Aug

Guys, I’m not going to lie…I didn’t post yesterday because I didn’t feel like there was much to say.  Mostly, I just worked this week.  I love my job, and I am always happy to be at work.  Plus, being able to pay bills is a good thing!  I just didn’t have too much to say. Then, this morning I just felt like I should post something anyway.  Life isn’t always made up of exciting moments, but it’s still thrilling to be alive.  So, here ya go…

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

1.  Speculoo’s Cookie Butter from Trader Joe’s is the most delicious thing ever. I might have eaten an entire bag of pretzels this week just so I could dip them in cookie butter. I have always been a fan of the Biscoff cookies that they have (or had) on Delta flights. Well, that is exactly what cookie butter tastes like! But it’s in a spreadable, peanut-buttery kind of state… so you can put in on things! Like pretzels. And celery, ice cream, bread… Maybe this week I will have to come up with more ideas of what to put it on. Thoughts? Have any of y’all tried this stuff?! Do it. (Warning: The cashier at TJ’s called it “Crack-ie Butter” and he might not be wrong.)

2.  Snow cones at work!  What a fun place, right?

10514648_10203259421100194_6423946517663789562_n

3.  I’ve really been able to switch on my actor brain recently… head shots, work shops, agency meetings.  I’ve also been working on a really fun scene for a showcase audition I have coming up next week. It’s been exciting to work that muscle again.  It’s also made me realize how much I want (possibly need) to be in class.  Whether it’s a specific technique, scene study, improv… I just want to get out there and do that.  Making goals.

4.  I love The Tonight Show starring Jimmy Fallon.  We watch pretty much every episode.  I have never been super into any late night talk shows, but Jimmy just makes it so fun.  It’s also a great way to keep up on entertainment news – which is important as an actor.  If you haven’t seen the show yet, check it out!  Mr. Fallon is nailing it.

5.  As a kid, you fall in love with movies and the characters that are in them… it is some time before you truly realize the character is played by an actor – a real person who is bringing that role to life.  For a while, they are just one in the same.  Do you know what I mean?  The first actor that I can remember recognizing as a person outside of his fabulous characters was Robin Williams.  When I would see him in a movie, I knew who it was and I’d expect to see something amazing.  He never disappointed.  Mr. Williams brought to life some of the most beloved characters from my childhood.  He also played roles that inspired me as a performer.  Watching him on-screen is like taking a Master Class in acting.  When I heard of his passing this week, I was stunned.  Is it strange to cry for someone who you have never met?  Obviously it is not, because every social media site was literally flooded with posts echoing all the things I was feeling.  I saw posts from friends who are actors, friends who just love movies, friends who couldn’t care less about the arts… He was so well-loved by his audience.  This genius of a man touched so many lives!  Robin Williams had such a bright spark that he shared with the world.  Even from afar, we all feel his loss.  I can’t imagine what those who experienced that spark personally are going through.  My heart goes out to family and friends – those that truly knew him.  He will be remembered as we all watch Aladdin, Good Will Hunting, Mrs. Doubtfire, my personal favorite, Hook… and the many other movies he breathed life into.  Robin Williams, you will be missed, but never forgotten.

10603664_10152360021794952_3506581476233628316_n

 

Enjoy your weekend, friends. Make every moment count!

Leave a Reply

