Favorite Five Friday (94th Edition)

25 Dec

Both Friday and the holidays have come and gone, but I’m still all aglow thinking about them. It’s been too great a week to let it go by without sharing…

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

1.  Over the last couple months I have been rereading my favorite books. I couldn’t tell you how many times I have read the Harry Potter Series, but it’s enough to make me a certified nerd for sure. I feel no shame. I grew up with Harry, Ron, and Hermione. When I read these books I am overwhelmed with nostalgia. They make me feel young, excited, heartbroken, joyful, triumphant. That J.K. Rowling sure knew what she was doing. She will always be a hero of mine for creating something that has meant so much to me. That has meant so much to so many. Those who think it’s “just a book” really don’t understand the magic. Those who feel that magic know Ms. Rowling spoke the truth when she said, “Whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.”

Probably my favorite.

Probably my favorite.

2.  For years I’ve wanted to send out Christmas cards, and for one reason or another it just never happened. Well, I decided that this was going to be the year that the Hackman’s sent cards. My friend Leah took some cute pictures of us, I turned to Shutterfly (they are pretty awesome) to put the cards together, and that was that! I feel pretty proud for finally sending out cards to our loved ones for the holidays. It’s definitely a tradition I want to continue. 🙂

IMG_44903.  A few months ago my brother called to ask if he could fly Dan and me home to Salt Lake for Christmas to surprise our mom and dad. I was so floored by the idea – how could I say no?! We worked hard to keep the secret, and this week it paid off. When we unexpectedly showed up at the restaurant where my parents were eating lunch, they were in total shock. The look on their faces was totally priceless. Huge shout out to my big brother for such a fantastic gift – not only for my parents, but also for me and Dan. I am so thankful for the opportunity to celebrate Christmas at home and for every moment spent with my family. (Also, I’m pretty sure my family is going to need to limit the surprise trips we plan before someone has heart failure! Haha!)

Surprise!

Surprise!

4.  I am totally a sunshine girl, but I had been craving chillier weather and a little snow. This year I feel like I truly dreamed up a White Christmas like the ones I used to know. When we went to bed on Christmas Eve there wasn’t any snow on the ground, but when I looked outside on Christmas morning it was a glorious winter wonderland! I’m sure it’s easier for me to be excited about snow knowing that I was going to leave it in a couple of days, but I definitely felt like a kid on Christmas. It was just perfect.

FullSizeRender (7)

5.  Traditions are something I adore. Creating new ones, continuing old ones. It just feels good to me. Traditions are so special. It was fabulous to be home to enjoy some of my favorite holiday traditions – the candlelight service, PJs on Christmas Eve, competing to be the first to open Aunt Jill’s annual puzzle present, getting a new Christmas ornament, and eating my grandma’s delicious cooking. Sharing these traditions with the people I love most was the perfect way to end 2014. This was truly a Christmas to remember.

FullSizeRender (5) FullSizeRender (8)

Possibly a new tradition?!

Possibly a new tradition?!

I hope you have all been equally as merry!

See you in 2015!

Leave a Reply

