Favorite Five Friday (95th Edition)

2 Jan

Happy New Year, friends! The idea of a new year is so thrilling to me. I love a fresh start. I know that 2014, the years before it, and the experiences I’ve had didn’t just disappear… They are still a part of me. The story is continuing, but a new chapter is unfolding. The movie is still playing, but a new scene has begun. Sorry… you get my drift. There is just something so delicious about beginning again – like being the first person to walk in freshly fallen snow. You’ve been here before, but suddenly it looks so different, so appealing. I am feeling even more jazzed about the new year than I normally do. I think that’s a good sign. Here is my first post coming to you from 2015…

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

1.  We fondly waved good-bye to 2014 this week. It was a great year! We went to Nashville for a wedding and spent time with our friends, I booked a Samsung commercial, Dan became a Tour Guide (and almost immediately after became a VIP Tour Guide) at Universal, we celebrated our 4th anniversary, we went to Disneyland A LOT, we made some really amazing friends, we both auditioned, did workshops, lots of headshots, put ourselves on tape, and started taking steps toward the careers we want, we had a blast working and taking Universal on together. Dan and I ended the year by giving a buddy tour together. I feel pretty darn lucky.

IMG_4774 10418876_10152647886329952_3536949320332547456_n

2.  New Year’s Eve 2014 was total chaos. (Or is that 2013? Changing years is so confusing.) We spent it in downtown L.A. with 18,000 other crazy people. This year we wanted something totally relaxed. So, we stayed in with the Petersen’s and it was perfect. We played games, made fun of all the horrible NYE Shows, watched the ball drop, and had a champagne toast to welcome 2015.

10464138_10152653584989952_8969449508033860890_n

Low key, but exactly where I wanted to be. Maybe that should be my motto for 2015…

3.  Just kidding! I already have my motto for 2015! While I was home for Christmas I read a fun buzzfeed article: 27 Children’s Movies That Are Wise Beyond Their Years. It’s pretty good. Yes, I cried. I particularly liked the ones from Harry Potter (duh), Mary Poppins, and Hugo. I definitely have a thing for meaningful (sappy) quotes and feel good lines. Well, later that week I heard another one… My family and I went to see Night at the Museum 3 (cute movie), and one of the final moments has just stuck with me. (Spoiler Alert!) Ben Stiller’s character, Larry, is saying good-bye to all of his pals at the museum because they won’t be coming to life anymore. His last good-bye is to Teddy Roosevelt played by Robin Williams (as if the moment wasn’t poignant enough). Larry says, ” I don’t know what I’m going to do tomorrow.” Teddy replies, “How exciting!” OH MY GOSH. How exciting! Right?! I have spent too much time being afraid of the unknown, the what-ifs. I am done. How exciting is it not to know every single detail right this second. How exciting that there is still so much to explore. How exciting to have another day to try something new. How exciting! I am just beyond myself with excitement thinking about all that I want to do in 2015 and all that could happen. This year is going to be magic.

10898131_10152648692199952_7130533086617943938_n

4.  I would like to say I am not normally one for resolutions, but I think that would be a lie. I am a pretty big fan of making goals, crossing things off my list, getting things done. I have some really specific goals I am working on this year. I am going to keep the specifics to myself, but I did want to share some of the things I would like to work on. In 2015 I would like to act with kindness, to choose gratitude daily, watch less and do more (yes, this includes TV), explore the world, and leap fearlessly into new possibilities. I am dreaming God-sized dreams this year. Nothing is impossible.

5.  It’s a new year, and I want to do something new. I want to hear from you. If you are reading my blog, I’d love your comments. I want to know what you’re thinking! I am working on plans to change and expand things this year on The Art of Acting Up. So, here is some change. What do you think? How did you spend your New Year’s Eve? What is your resolution for 2015? I would love to hear from you. 🙂 Be bold!

Happy Friday and Happy New Year!

4 Responses to “Favorite Five Friday (95th Edition)”

  1. Jan R. January 2, 2015 at 8:16 pm #

    Awesome post! Personally, I have made a goal to do a better job of actually being present in each moment and really ‘seeing’ people. I am also looking ahead to the next part of my journey in education…32 years teaching…wondering and having thoughts in mind as to the next place my career may lead. I’m actively seeking God’s direction toward that this year. Change is hard and exhilarating at the same time.

    • Joanna Hackman January 3, 2015 at 6:08 pm #

      Thanks mama! Sounds like you have good goals in mind. 😊 I can’t wait to see what you do next!

  2. Oriia January 3, 2015 at 4:53 am #

    I think you should keep on doing what you’re doing! These are always wonderful reads.

Leave a Reply

