Favorite Five Friday (104th Edition) 

20 Mar

Why hello there! Another Friday is here, and I am loving it. It’s also been a full week. Here we go…

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

1.  I think I’ve shared this before, but I am working on expanding my presence on social media. Apparently that is important if you are an actor. 😉 So, you can hang with me on Instagram and Twitter (@JoannaHackman). That also means I am adding new things to the blog. This week I started by posting something called Speaks To Me Sunday. In these posts I will be sharing words that speak to me, inspire me, challenge me, or even make me laugh. I hope you check it out and share words that speak to you. Join the conversation in the comments each week or on Insta and Twitter with #SpeaksToMeSunday.

2.  Universal is hiring the next class of Studio Tour Guides, and I am proud to be one of their trainers! I’ve spent most of the week riding the trams, watching the trainees discover new things, and helping them to craft their tours. I have to say it’s one of my most favorite positions at Universal, and I feel so privileged to be a part of the training team.

11041300_10152821314039952_1735137836089757002_n

3.  I finally gave in. I am watching The Office. And I will admit it… I love it. I put it off for so long because I was nervous about all the hype. I had also just heard bits and pieces of the show without watching, and it never sounded like something I would like. Well, I can happily say that I was wrong. I think the show is brilliant and hilarious. I love the ensemble cast. I love the ridiculousness of each situation. I love how amazing Steve Carrell is at making me love/hate Michael Scott. (Sorry, he’s the worst. Stupid $400 iPod.) Most of all I love Jim and Pam… I can hardly stand it. Guys, I love The Office.

4.  I just found out that one my favorite people on the planet is moving to California for a year! Cammie was my roommate in college, and she is one of the funnest, most talented, and encouraging people I know. She and her awesome husband, Steven, are coming to L.A. for a year while he is working to become a doctor. Los Angeles is so lucky to get those two even for a short time. I cannot wait to have more of them in my life.

FullSizeRender (2)

5.  My amazing Dad turned 60 TODAY! To celebrate him, I’d like to share a few of my favorite memories/moments:

– My favorite thing when I was little was going swimming with my Dad. There was nothing more fun than having him throw me up in the air and then splashing down into the water. Never being scared because I knew he was there.

– Every kid in the neighborhood knew when it was time for the Rolan kids to head home. Dad’s whistle could be heard the next street over. No matter where we were out playing, we would hear that and make our way home. I miss the days of not needing to watch a clock or carry a phone. Dad could reach us with just a whistle.

– Dad drove me all over the place. School, friends houses, rehearsals, soccer games, auditions. He never complained. I always just expected that he (or Mom) would drop whatever they were doing to get me where I wanted to go. I never realized how much time all of that took or considered how inconvenient my plans might have been. Looking back, I am so thankful to have had SUCH supportive parents. They always made me and Jeremy their number one priority. 

– I will never forget when my Dad did a cart-wheel in the middle of my 8th grade science class. (He was the teacher.) His cart-wheels were always better than mine. Probably still are. 

– On that note… I never made the cheerleading squad. I remember when I was waiting to find out if I had made the squad, my Dad gave me flowers and two cards from he and Mom. One card was to be opened if I made it. The other if I did not. When I found out I didn’t make it, I opened the latter. It was a sweet card about how proud of me they were. I couldn’t stifle my curiosity, and I opened the “yes” card too. It still makes me tear up remembering that it was the exact same card. This support, belief, and love is my firm foundation. 

– Dad wanted to surprise my Mom with a really beautiful gift for her birthday. He let me come and help pick out jewelry for her. I felt so proud that he wanted my opinion, and loved the way he wanted to surprise Mom. I am so happy I found a husband who loves to surprise me. 

– I always loved listening to my Dad sing at church or in shows. Whether he was singing a solo or with the choir. It made me so proud. That’s my Dad.

– Dad came with me and Mom to buy my Homecoming dress. I was 14, and it was my first high school dance. It was blue, floor length, and one of the most beautiful things I’d ever worn. Dad cried when he saw me in it, and I felt like a princess.

– He is super brave. After I fell in love with theatre, Dad decided to give it a shot too. He puts himself out there auditioning and performing. It’s really fun to share our love of the stage. 

– One of my most cherished memories is having him walk me down the aisle at my wedding. It was such a special moment, and I’m so glad he was by my side. Then we had our Daddy/Daughter dance to Unforgettable, and that is what he is.

Dad, I love you so much! I am proud of all you have accomplished in your 60 years. You are brave, talented, hard-working, thoughtful, funny, supportive, and loving. I am so thankful to be your daughter and to have so many wonderful memories together. Happy Birthday! 

11082668_10152826715639952_3495334645866049177_n 11083676_10152824919964952_4896731029843089903_n

And Happy Friday, y’all! Enjoy the weekend! 

Leave a Reply

