Speaks To Me Sunday #10

17 May

 
Today I am graduating from The Upright Citizens Brigade Improv 101 class. A quote from one of my favorite improvisers seemed to be a perfect fit to mark the occasion. 

The first thing you learn in improv is to say “Yes, and…” You have to dive into what’s in front of you by saying “yes.” That might be the scariest part! But once you dare to choose yes, it’s so liberating. You’re in. Then you have to add an “and.” Add to the situation, bring what you’ve got to the table, build something new. You have to be creative and specific at the same time to really form a firm foundation. Then, like Tina says… You’ll figure it out after! 

This has been so helpful while I’ve learned to improvise, but it also applies to my everyday life. I can get so stuck not making decisions because I’m afraid of making the wrong one. I’m starting to think the only wrong choice is to not make one at all! So, say yes! Add the and. You’ll figure it out. Sounds like a pretty good life motto to me. It’s time to be decisive. And Brave. We can do it. 

Yes! 

What are you going to “Yes, and…”?! 

Talk to me. Leave a comment! @joannahackman on Instagram and Twitter. #SpeaksToMeSunday 

One Response to “Speaks To Me Sunday #10”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Favorite Five Friday (113th Edition) | The Art Of Acting Up - May 22, 2015

    […]  Here are a few more thoughts on my Improv experience… (click the […]

Leave a Reply

