Speaks To Me Sunday #15

28 Jun

 
I was sitting on the floor of my 6th grade classroom reading a book with my best friend when I looked down and noticed our legs side by side. Hers were thinner than mine… and it made me feel bad. 

This is the first memory I have of feeling shame about my body, feeling uncomfortable in my own skin. I was ten years old.

It breaks my heart to think of kids, people, anyone feeling that way about their body. That they are somehow less than, not enough. I’m going to be honest… Sometimes I still struggle with these feelings. 

From an early age we are bombarded with opinions and images about how we should look and what is beautiful. Well, I want you to know that YOU are. Your body is amazing! It pumps blood through your veins and air through your lungs. It wakes up each morning and carries you through your day. It allows you to use all of your senses to experience what life has to offer. And maybe it can even run, jump, and dance. Your body is pretty great.

I feel like at some point, everyone has found something they dislike about their body. I think it’s time to turn that around. If there is something you want to change, do it! Put the work in. But not because you are punishing yourself… Because you value yourself. You are worth it. If it’s something you can’t change, lean Into it. Learn to love it. 

For me, this was (is!) a hard leason. As a kid, a few mean boys called me “thunder thighs.” I can’t tell you how unbelievably self-conscious it made me feel. It made me hate my legs, it made me feel unworthy. Today, I know I will never have long, lean legs, but I have to choose to be okay with that. Instead, I have powerful legs that carry me through several miles a day in a theme park and movie studio. When it comes to working out, y’all, I can do leg day every day. My legs may not be built for the runway, but they are strong. And you know what, I like them. 

We would all be so much healthier if we could stop picking ourselves apart and find the beauty in our “imperfections.” There are some things I want to work on and improve, but it is not going to be because I hate my body. I’m going to work hard because I love my body and because I deserve it. 

It’s your turn! Find the positives. What “flaws” can be made beautiful by changing your perspective? How are you going to love you body? Speak up! It’s #SpeaksToMeSunday! (Find me on Instagram and Twitter @joannahackman.) 

2 Responses to “Speaks To Me Sunday #15”

  1. sydpisano June 28, 2015 at 8:44 pm #

    How inspiring! It truly is important to remember the real reasons we should workout.

Leave a Reply

