Favorite Five Friday (124th Edition)

14 Aug

Hello you! How ya been? Hoping your summer is packed with fun until the very end. Mine sure has been…

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

1.  More theatre and more talented friends. We went to see our buddy, Mark, in the world premiere of The Butterfly Who Became A Cocoon. He was the Butterfly and he rocked it! (Way to go, Marky!) The show is a children’s theatre musical unlike most I have seen.  That is not to say that I haven’t seen some good children’s theatre (shout out to Nashville Children’s Theatre!)… It was just something different. And wonderful. The music was fantastic and the cast was brilliant. I can’t wait to see where the show goes from here – only up I’m sure! What a fantastic night with friends supporting the arts.


2.  Little Lemon had her big surgery this week. All went well and she is recovering. We had some good laughs when she came home stumbling around and scaring Jack with the cone of shame. She is totally over wearing the cone at this point. Yesterday she wiggled her way out of it – too clever for her own good. When it’s on she causes trouble. She has been getting so annoyed that she’s started knocking her food and water all over the floor.  And afterward, true to her namesake, Liz Lemon fell asleep in the middle of her food.


  
3.  Pool day with the best! Universal is the busiest during the summer so it’s hard to get out there and do all the “normal” summer activities. Our pals decided to make the most of our time off this week by spending the day at the pool. We got to grill out, have drinks, swim, lounge around, and just have a great time together. It was exactly what I needed. Thankful for friends and for sweet summertime!


  

4.  We had our first meeting for the 30th Annual Tour Guide Showcase this week! It just got me pumped up to be a part of it. The cast is so talented and a whole lot of fun. I can’t wait to spend time with these awesome people. Bring it on, showcase!

5.  I am loving the acting class I’ve been taking through Universal. Jordan from Anthony Meindl’s Actor Workshop is one the most brilliant and intuitive teachers I’ve worked with. Clarity is the word that comes to mind. Last night I worked on a scene that I wish I could have a second shot at. I was frustrated with myself after because it wasn’t my best work. But it was more important than that… It became a real learning situation. As an actor (and probably a person) I need to work to become better at listening and reacting instead of playing “the idea” of what something should look like. Does that make sense? I hope so. I also need to remember that is okay to take my time and take my space. I am here and proud to be. Thank you, Jordan!

That’s all she wrote.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

