Speaks To Me Sunday #32

20 Dec

 
I’ve been feeling a little Grinchy about the fact that I am not going home for Christmas. On top of that, I will be working on the holiday… Which is something I’ve never done. I think I can already say this is something I don’t intend to repeat because it’s just made me sad. 

So here I am. I can’t change these circumstances for 2015, but ultimately, it doesn’t matter. Why? Because God is going to meet me here. 

God with us. 

I’ve heard that my whole life. Immanuel. God with us. That’s the whole point of the Christmas story. He came to be with us. I don’t think that’s ever meant more to me than it does this year. He has the power to change my circumstances, but he doesn’t need to. He just has to walk through them with me. Sometimes that’s how the most important lessons are learned. 

Today at church the pastor said, “It’s not about the presents. It’s about the presence.” The presence of loved ones, the presence of Immanuel. That’s what I’ll be focusing on this year even though many of my loved ones will be far away. I’m determined to make it a meaningful Christmas. (No more Grinch for me!) He is here. God is with us. 

#SpeaksToMeSunday. 

Twitter & Instagram: @JoannaHackman

One Response to “Speaks To Me Sunday #32”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Favorite Five Friday (131st Edition) | The Art Of Acting Up - January 8, 2016

    […]  God With Us. I already wrote a whole post about this, but this thought struck me so particularly this […]

Leave a Reply

