Speaks To Me Sunday #36

24 Jan

  
We all have to start somewhere.

I am working to move forward in my career, and it’s so easy to be filled with doubt when I see how much my resume is lacking. And it’s not just me saying that. That’s what folks in the industry see as well. It makes meetings a little more intimidating. And it can be hard to feel like you have to explain why they should take a chance on you. I mean… I’ve trained. I have a degree in acting, dang it! I have performed in countless plays since I was 6 years old. I’ve been cast in lots of lead roles. That’s all gotta count for something, right? Well… maybe it doesn’t in their eyes. To them I have a long way to go. And that’s fair.  

But it means something to me. It’s my foundation, my background, my life so far. It’s the beginning. 

You might look at my resume and call me an amateur – particularly in the world of film. But we all have to start somewhere… Rachel McAdams, Kate Winslet, Jessica Chastain… They all had resumes that read like mine at some point. They figured out how to push through. I will too. Because I’m an artist. 

I won’t be afraid to say it anymore. I’m an actor. I’m an artist. 

Who are you?

Let me hear you. Comment below or find me on Twitter or Instagram: @JoannaHackman.

Use the hashtag #SpeaksToMeSunday and tell me what inspires you.

3 Responses to “Speaks To Me Sunday #36”

  1. berniesdaughter January 24, 2016 at 2:10 pm #

    I truly needed to read this today! I have been plagued with self-doubt for far too long. I wish to move forward in my career as well, yet I’ve tended to operate from that “I’ve got too far to go” mindset. Thank you for sharing your story. And please know that it has truly helped someone today!

    • Joanna Hackman January 24, 2016 at 2:31 pm #

      Thank you so much. Thanks for sharing and speaking out. That’s exactly why I write my blog… I always hope that I will find someone else who feels the same way. We are in this together! Whatever your goals, you can make it happen. ❤️

      • berniesdaughter January 24, 2016 at 3:20 pm #

        Yes I can. And so can you. Thanks for reminding me. You just summed up why I write as well. ❤️

Leave a Reply

