Favorite Five Friday (140th Edition)

25 Mar

I had a really sweet week full of time with people I love. I hope you did too! Here’s a few of my favorite things…

FAVORITE FIVE FRIDAY

1. Two things I love are exploring new places and time with friends. I got to do both of those things this week when Cammie suggested we go to Abbot Kinney for the afternoon! First of all, time with Cammie always feels like a Godsend. Our conversations are always captivating, and every time, I leave her presence feeling refreshed. I had never even heard of it (crazy!), but Abbot Kinney is a hip little street in Venice with great shops and yummy food. I was a particular fan of Intelligensia Coffee. We had coffee, wandered, tried on clothes, ate lunch at Lemonade, and chatted about life, love, and other mysteries. It was certainly the Girl’s Day I needed.


 2.  I have always been a huge, unashamed musical theatre nerd. At age five, my favorite movie was Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. At age ten, all my wildest dreams came true when I was cast as Annie. Listening to (and singing) showtunes has always been a part of my life. I am a fan of most musical theatre, but once in a while,  a show comes along and it strikes your heart… The Scarlet Pimpernel, Wicked, The Last Five Years, and now… Hamilton.  It’s consuming me. I can’t stop listening to (and trying to sing) these songs. Lin-Manuel Miranda already won me over by combining musical theatre and history. Add in absurdly catchy songs with brilliant lyrics, characters that make your heart ache, and an extra special something that brings me to tears every time… I’m yours. So head over heels, crazy about this show. I am just dreaming of seeing it performed live. If you haven’t heard of this show, where have you been?! Seriously, give it a listen. Hamilton might just blow your mind.

3.  More fun things on my day off! I got to tag along on a trip to the L.A. Zoo with my pal, Leah, and the kiddos she nannies. Those boys are awesome. They all showed me the coolest parts of the zoo. I didn’t even hide when we walked by the spiders! My favorites were the monkeys and great apes. They just have such a fun energy. The L.A. Zoo even has a great seating area by the chimpanzee enclosure so we got to eat the lunches Leah brought for us while we watched the chimps at play. Basically, the zoo is awesome.


4.  Happy Birthday to my handsome, hilarious, and hard-working Daddy! I love getting to celebrate this guy. I hope you know how loved and appreciated you are, Dad. I love you!


5.  And we got to celebrate in person! My mom and dad came for a little weekend visit so they could get a sneak peek at The Wizarding World of Harry Potter. And to see us too, I suppose! It’s been so fun to see them experience Harry Potter. It’s truly a magical place. Thanks for coming to visit, guys!

Have a Happy Friday and a wonderful week! 

Leave a Reply

