Too Long To-Do Lists (101 in 1001)

18 May

Anyone remember 101 in 1001?

It was a challenge to complete 101 specific and doable tasks in 1001 days. I hopped right on board when I read about it because I love a good list almost as much as I love crossing things off of it. So, I made this list of all lists… and I got excited about it! Then I forgot about it. Then I remembered and got a few things done. Then I spaced again. Then I conquered a few more things. Then it stressed me out. Then I just kind of let it go, sparing the occasional thought for my lonely list.

I was meant to have finished my 101 in 1001 last December. And I’ll be honest, I didn’t get to cross everything off everything on my list. At first I was disappointed. I felt like I should write a post about it (closure, ya know?), but I was embarrassed that I did not defeat this project. I hate to fail.

Well, I finally went back to look at this insane list, and I realized there were somethings I didn’t even care so much about… Did I actually want to do a Mud Run? Or keep reading Jane Austen novels after I found out I wasn’t a huge fan? Was I going to go back to writing articles for write.com after three years? No! Now, to be fair, I did accomplish a lot of the things on my list! I signed with an agent, I got my passport and went to Europe, I did fun things with my husband, I got a cat… I got two! These have been wonderful moments and memories in my life. Not just things to cross off a list.

So, ultimately I realized… one GIANT list of things I want to do doesn’t work for me. It’s like too much going on in my brain. A short daily list of tasks to take care of works much better for me. The rest of it… traveling, events, family stuff, dreams, ideas… those things don’t belong on a to-do list. Those are for me to journal about at length, to share with loved ones,  to entrust to God, to build in my own time.

I might have “failed.” But it was the best thing that could have happened. I certainly learned a lot! Going back through the list, I got to reflect on all I’ve done for the last few years and truly feel proud. I found out that sometimes I assign myself tasks just to be busy – not because I actually want to do them. Or that our desires do change from year to year. I also got to feel a jolt of excitement about some things I still want to accomplish… writing a children’s book, working on our finances, sending thank you’s to important people in my life, taking a hot air balloon ride! There is so much life to be lived – especially when I’m not concentrating on crossing all of these spectacular moments off a list.

I’m posting my 101 in 1001 below for you to see! There’s a little commentary in red and asterisks by the items I found that were still important to me.

 

My 101 in 1001:

Act. (1-14)

  • Find representation  (Step 1: start looking) (Step 2: Theatrical Representation)
    • Signed with Element Talent Agency (Commerical Representation) 3/28/13
    • Signed with HTG Artists 11/22/13
    • Signed with Avalon Artists Group in March of 2015
  • Land a speaking role on TV or in a film… did this a few months later!
  • Be in a musical again (As I don’t have complete control over this — I will just do all I can to make it happen!) ***
  • Watch all of AFI’s top 100 movies… maybe not alllll of them.
  • Discover my “type” or “brand”
  • Research 20 actors (10/20) ***
  • Research 10 directors (10) ***
  • Research 10 writers (10) ***
  • Start studying at a studio
  • Take an improv class
  • Take a voice over class ***
  • Start/join a script reading group
  • Find 10 free acting workshops/classes and go to them (10/10)
  • Find 5 new monologues (2/5) … Or a whole bunch of awesome scenes. You need those more.

Create. (15-26)

  • Try something new thing each week for 3 months (Pinterest, DIY, recipe, work out, etc.) (12/12)
  • Blog about the new thing I tried (3/3)
  • Get back into music (learn to read it, take lessons, etc.)
  • Take an art class of some kind
  • Take a photography class (or have your friend teach you to be her assistant at a wedding!)
  • Learn to use Photoshop (quick lesson with Leah/using other apps too)
  • Make a T-shirt quilt
  • Write a children’s book/story ***
  • Come up with a solid idea for a YouTube channel (then decide if I want to create it)
  • Create some kind of art to hang above our bed  (We moved and were able to use our canvas wedding pictures)
  • Sew something using a pattern
  • Make 5 homemade gifts (cards) (5/5) (Changed to cards because I found it to be a better fit!)
Work It Out. (27-33)
  • Work out at least 3 times a week for 3 months (12/12 weeks)
  • Find a sport/physical activity I enjoy (outside of basic working out)  I accidentally began enjoying hiking!
  • Do that activity at least once a month for 6 months (6/6)
  • Work on flexibility with yoga  2 times a week for a month (8/8)
  • Take a dance class
  • Hike to the Hollywood sign (6/22/13)
  • Compete in a mud run… really? 
Learn. (34-39)
  • Learn 5 important things about politics (5) *** (I guess this would come in handy.)
  • Relearn all 50 state Capitals (that’s right)
  • Learn some new things about the decades of the 1900’s — Style, culture, events, people.  (00’s, 10’s, 20’s, 30’s, 40’s, 50’s, 60’s, 70’s, 80’s, 90’s)
  • Pick 5 countries to research and learn about (5)
  • Pick 5 significant historical events to research and learn about (5)
  • Learn conversational Spanish… or a little French, instead!
Get It Done. (40-47)
  • Get my California license
  • Get a new passport
  • Create a workable budget and stick to it ***
  • Set up an IRA/retirement fund ***
  • Get a life insurance policy
  • Buy my domain name and make my blog my website ***and get an acting website!
  • Save up and purchase a headboard ***
  • Declutter and downsize household items

Positive Growth. (48-51)

  • Say 2 positive things for every negative comment for a week (7)
  • Quiet time/devotional every day for a month (30/30)
  • Memorize 30 verses (2/30) ***
  • Get a plant of some kind (3/14/13) and keep it alive for at least 3 months (3/3)

Food. (52-57)

  • Take a cooking class
  • Make a cake from scratch
  • Successful meal planning for a month
  • Find recipes for 5 healthy treats (5) ***
  • Make cookies from scratch
  • Grow something edible

Go Without. (58-62)

  • Don’t eat fast food for a month (30/30)
  • Go meatless 1 day a week for a month (1/5)… or not?
  • Don’t eat sweets for a month (18/30: made it 18 days and then took an impromptu vacation.) (Started over: 35/30)
  • Go a month without buying anything new (Check this out: Could You Go a Year Without Buying Anything New?) (31/30) January 2015
  • Get up by 8:00 AM for a month (30/30)

Adventure.(63-68)

  • Travel to Europe (Anywhere really, but specifically: England, France, Ireland, Italy, Greece)
  • Go on a hot air balloon ride ***
  • Finish visiting all 50 states (Maine, Wisconsin) ***
  • Drive down the PCH to San Diego (6/30/13)
  • Save up for a real vacation (Maybe Hawaii? Or Europe trip?)
  • Go camping
Get Dolled Up. (69-73)
  • Learn more about fashion/style and my own preferences… think I got it.
  • Learn to braid my own hair
  • Add more colors and diverse styles to my wardrobe (10/10 items)
  • Try a new make-up look once a week for a month (5/5)
  • Try a new hairstyle once a week for a month (5/5)
Spread Love. (74-80)
  • Send out Christmas cards
  • Get involved in community service
  • Send 50 handwritten notes/letters (50/50)
  • Do 10 random acts of kindness for strangers (10) ***
  • Re-purpose or donate all unwanted clothing
  • Send 5 Thank You cards to people who have impacted my life (5) ***
  • Donate blood
Read and Write. (81-92)
  • Update my blog weekly
  • Keep up with my calendar journal for the rest of 2013
  • Read and review 1 book a month for 6 months (3/6)
  • Read at least 3 Jane Austen novels (2/3)… or find out you don’t actually like Jane Austen very much.
  • Write a letter to myself on my golden (26th) birthday to open in 10 years
  • Start/join a book club
  • Read 30 new books (30/30)
  • Write 25 articles in a week for write.com… or find out you don’t want to.
  • Read at least 3 Shakespeare plays I’ve never read (3)
  • Read at least 5 screenplays (5)
  • Read at least 5 plays (5)
  • Answer the 50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind
For Fun. (93-101)
  • Go to a live taping of something
  • Date my husband (50/50)
  • Try 10 new restaurants in L.A. (10/10)
  • Get a cat
  • See a movie at the El Capitan
  • Go to Rodeo Drive with my mom
  • Go to Neil Patrick Harris’ Haunted Play… why did it close?! 😦
  • Attend a movie premiere (Fast & Furious 6 on 5/21/13)
  • Create a new 101 in 1001… NAH!

Cheers to trying new things, failing big time, short to-do lists, and living beautiful, unplanned moments!

Leave a Reply

