Speaks To Me Sunday #56

10 Jul


This week I was driving in my car listening to Hamilton (as per usual), and one of my favorite songs came on. “Dear Theodosia” is a love letter/lullaby sung by both Hamilton and Burr to their children. It always makes me emotional, but this time it made me weep. 

“I’ll make the world safe and sound for you.”

I desperately want to be a mom some day. But our world is not safe and sound. I can’t make that promise to my future children, and it breaks my heart. Doesn’t it break yours? I imagine a safe, sound place to bring up a healthy, happy child is the number one priority for any parent. My dream is for that to be a reality. 

That can’t happen until we all stand united. Until all lives matter. There are so many terrible things happening right now in America and abroad. It is up to us to be the change so that our children have a world where they can safely grow, play, build, create, and dream.

I am seeing so much division, confusion, and hurt amongst my friends. It’s painfully hard to watch, to be a part of. I have had a challenging time sorting out my own thoughts, but this is what I know:

  • All the violence and shootings have to stop.
  • Love is the answer.
  • We could all listen more and shout less. 
  • You can be pro-cop and pro-black. They are not opposing sides. We all should be for them both.
  • I hate guns. I’m scared of them. 
  • I do not believe saying “Black Lives Matter” is causing this divide. That divide already exists. Racism still exists. Because of the color of their skin, black men and women do not get the same (read: fair) treatment in this country. You might be thinking that isn’t your fault or you don’t do that… But white people benefit from this system. It’s not right, but it’s the truth. We are looked at as “the norm.” (If a production is wanting to implement diverse casting for their movie, it means they specifically want some non-white people on screen. Having to make that a focus instead of it just happening means there is a problem.) It might make you feel hurt to hear that. Their lives mean more than our hurt feelings. Our black brothers and sisters are not treated fairly, and they need us to stand up, to use our voices for them. That is what Black Lives Matter means.
  • Yes, all lives matter. Yes, I believe that. But right now, we need to focus on those who are hurting and in need. That is what God calls us to do.
  • Thank God for the helpers, the peacemakers.
  • We have to take action. I have to take action. I cannot sit idly by and let this continue. I don’t know yet what my action will be, but right now I am doing my research. I am planning to call my local representatives. I want to be part of the solution.
  • We should all be part of the solution.

None of it feels like enough, but writing it all out feels like a start. 

My heart is aching for everyone who has lost someone in the recent events. And for all the loved ones lost that we didn’t hear about because there wasn’t a camera to capture it. I am grieving with you. I will step up for you. I will step up for our children and the world I want to leave for them. I want to do my part to make it safe and sound.

#SpeaksToMeSunday 

Leave a Reply

