Speaks To Me Sunday #58

24 Jul


The Hackmans have been minimizing and practicing The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up (Thanks Marie Kondo).

The amount of things we have realized that we don’t need is unreal. All this stuff just sitting there, creating clutter (it might be organized, but it’s still clutter), and taking up precious space in our lives. We are in the middle of a massive overhaul. We are done hanging onto belongings that we don’t need, that don’t serve a purpose, that don’t make us happy. Saying no to all of these things has been an incredible relief. I can’t wait to donate our many, many bags of stuff and own just what brings us joy. I am already loving the feel of being home in our space. 

I really believe this is going to set us up to focus on all of the gorgeous moments in our lives instead of all the stuff. I can’t wait!

What do you think of minimizing? Let’s hear it! 

Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @JoannaHackman

#SpeaksToMeSunday 

2 Responses to “Speaks To Me Sunday #58”

  1. Tori July 25, 2016 at 9:15 pm #

    De-cluttering is such a good feeling! I’ve been working to do the same for the past few weeks. I’ve always done well not accumulating too much clothing, but I realized how many papers, trinkets, books and movies, and just… stuff I was holding on to that I didn’t need and/or hadn’t used in years and was taking up valuable space.

    It feels overwhelming sometimes, but I focus on one bit of space at a time and don’t try to do too much in one day and that helps make the job manageable. One unexpected upside to de-cluttering is that it’s helped me finally get my scrapbook going since now that the contents of my drawers are sorted, I can organize and keep them neat in scrapbook form.

    • Joanna Hackman July 26, 2016 at 11:39 am #

      That’s so awesome! It’s amazing how GOOD everything feels when you get rid of all the stuff you just don’t need. I really think setting everything in its place at home and loving everything you have is the key to setting yourself up for success in all other aspects of your life. (like scrapbooking!) Kind of amazing. ☺️

Leave a Reply

